2020 General Assembly: AIJA makes new appointments

SEPTEMBER 10, 2020

During its 58th Annual Congress from 24 to 28 August 2020, AIJA, the International Association of Young Lawyers brought virtually together 350 legal professionals from around the world to debate ideas surrounding diversity and the legal profession in today’s world.

It is with great pleasure that we officially communicate the results of the recent elections held during the AIJA General Assembly last 28th August, together with the new appointments in the different bodies of our Association approved by the Executive Committee during their meeting the day before.

Let’s welcome together the outstanding commitment and essential contribution of these newly elected Officers!


  • François Barré, President
  • Paola Fudakowska, Immediate Past President
  • Anna Wyrzykowska, First Vice-President (elected by the General Assembly)
  • Jean-Philippe Arroyo, Secretary General (elected by the General Assembly)
  • Eduardo de la Peña Bernal, Deputy Treasurer (elected by the Bureau)

Extended Bureau

Academic Programme Committee

  • Anouk Rosielle
  • Babak Tabeshian
  • Kristine Zvejniece

Officers of the Commissions Committee

  • Aurélie Conrad Hari
  • Jean-Rodolphe Fiechter 
  • Rebecka Thörn

National Representatives Committee

  • Clara Gordon (newly appointed)
  • Arnoldo Lacayo (newly appointed)
  • Tomas Rybar

Human Rights Committee

  • Martijn Burgers
  • Stéphane de Navacelle (newly appointed)
  • Pia Padfield 

Newly elected Executive Committee members

(For a complete list of Executive Committee members, please click here)

  • Tom Arntz
  • Luana Barros
  • Alisa Burkhard
  • Beatriz del Carmen Cabal-Chen
  • Myriam Desnus  
  • Marika Devaux
  • Sophie Lens
  • Michelle Lindholm
  • Moritz Maurer
  • Maike Sauter
  • Eva Schwittek
  • Thomas Seeber
  • Giuliano Stasio
  • Marnix Van Den Bergh
  • Pieter Van Den Broeck
  • Sandy Van Der Schaaf
  • Giuseppe Salsarulo (1-year mandate)
  • Krzysztof Pawlak (1-year mandate)
  • Lisette Dupre has been invited to the Executive Committee for a period of one year.

Newly appointed National Representatives and contact persons

(For a complete list of National Representatives and local contacts, please click here)

Austria: Philip Rosenauer

Canada: Monty Dhaliwal

Chile: Cristian Casanova

Czech Republic: Eva Indruchová

Estonia: Madis Reppo

France: Marie Davy

Greece: Eleni Skoufari

Hungary: Tamás Mihály Balogh

India: Manav Raheja          

Israel: Adam Salkin

Lithuania: Edvinas Meskys

Netherlands: Marjolein van Rest

Norway: Carl Christian Marthiniussen

Portugal: David Areias

Romania: Ioan Radu

Sweden: Jakob Nortoft

Switzerland: Janine Reudt-Demont

United Arab Emirates: Celia Titouni

United Kingdom: Jennifer Maxwell

Uruguay: Alejandra Garcia


Regional Representative for Germany (Hamburg, Bremen, Lower Saxony, Schleswig-Holstein): Antonius Jonetzki

Regional Representative for Switzerland - Basel: Laura Manz

Regional Representative for Switzerland – French speaking regions: Ludivine Boisard


Contact person, Bahamas: Sophia Rolle-Kapousouzoglou

Contact person, Cameroon : Aurelien Djengue

Contact person, Costa Rica: Alejandro Vargas

Contact person, Georgia: Gvantsa Jishiashvili

Contact person, Paraguay: Veronica Franco

Contact person, Singapore: Julie Raneda

Contact person, Taiwan: Miranda Liu

Newly appointed Commission Officers

(For a complete list of Commission Officers, please click here)



Antitrust Vice-President: Karen Ruback


Banking, Finance and Capital Market

Banking, Finance and Capital Market President: Alex Carbonell

Banking, Finance and Capital Market Vice-President: Lars Raedschelders


Commercial Fraud

Commercial Fraud President: Nicolas Herren

Commercial Fraud Vice-President: Adam Flacks


Corporate and M&A

Corporate and M&A President: Marie Brasseur

Corporate and M&A President: Rainer Kaspar

Corporate and M&A Vice-President: Hugo Teixeira

Corporate and M&A Vice-President: Christian Sauer


Environment and Energy Law

Environmental and Energy Law Vice-President: Jeroen De Coninck


Intellectual Property, Technology, Media, and Telecommunications

Intellectual Property, Technology, Media, and Telecommunications President: Sylvia Van Shaik

Intellectual Property, Technology, Media, and Telecommunications Vice-President: Johannes Struck


International Business Law

International Business Law President: Bruno Guarnieri

International Business Law Vice-President: Agata Adamczyk


International Private Clients and Family Law

International Private Clients and Family Law President: Veronica Dindo

International Private Clients and Family Law Vice-President: John Davies


Labour Law

Labour Law President: Caroline Barbe

Labour Law Vice-President: Kato Aerts


Skills, Career, Innovation, Leadership and Learning

Skills, Career, Innovation, Leadership and Learning Vice-President: Marco Gardino


Tax Law

Tax Law President: Guadalupe Diaz-Sunico

Tax Law Vice-President: Eva Stadler


Transport Law

Transport Law President: Cherry Almeida

Transport Law Vice-President: Hendrikje Herrmann

Transport Law Vice-President: Davide Canepa

Transport Law Vice-President: Ansam Okbani